Week 8 Reflection – EDUC 6115

EDUC 6115 was an enriching experience that significantly broadened my perspective on the different intersecting ways that people learn. I was surprised to see how many different learning theories, styles and strategies resonated with me personally or reminded me of previous interactions with peers about how they learn. This illustrates the complicated and often overlapping ideas about how we learn, why we learn and, finally, how we can shape this process – either through means of our own educational journey or as that architect of instructional materials.

This course deepened my comprehension of my personal learning process insofar as I will now be cognizant of how I learn and what steps I can take to be a more efficient learner. As technology and its influx of readily available information steadily become a prominent factor in all types of learning. Creating the web diagram of the different sources of knowledge that I am constantly immersed in was a productive exercise in understanding the full scope of this reality.

I will recall upon these ideas for the rest of my life, not just limited to the rest of my educational institution endeavors. One of the biggest concepts that has been revelatory to me over these several weeks is the idea of how to approach learning in a classroom consisting of students with diverse learning backgrounds without excluding anybody. Kapp explains that “what we need is to take the best from each philosophy and use it wisely to create solid educational experiences for our learners” (Kapp, 2007). Though, the turning point in my comprehension of this quandary was Glenn’s argument that “Glenn argues that “teachers should worry about matching their instruction to the content they are teaching” (Glenn, 2009). Exploring this mentality, in addition to all the other fascinating ideas from his colleagues, will allow me to create effective learning content and will help immensely in my upcoming path towards the instructional design field.

 

Resources:

Glenn, D. (2009, December 15). Matching Teaching Style to Learning Style May Not Help Students. Retrieved April 11, 2017, from http://www.chronicle.com/article/MatchingTeachingStyleto/49497/

Kapp, K. (2007, January 02). Out and About: Discussion on Educational Schools of Thought [Web log post]. Retrieved March 20, 2017, from http://karlkapp.com/out-and-about-discussion-on-educational

Leave a Reply

