Mindmap Reflection

I found it to be beneficial and enlightening to map out the various ways in which I learn. I became mindful of how learning can seem to be a constant flow in our lives, especially in an age where one can be inundated with stimuli. As I was creating this diagram, I started to weigh the substance of each source and how beneficial each might be. I realized that much knowledge is certainly situational, but I became increasingly interested in how these types of information overlap and intersect with each other. I will now be more cognizant of the relationship these connections have or do not have with each other. This will allow me to think more critically about how I learn and establish effective strategies and anticipate resistance to change.

The digital tools that best facilitate learning for me, in broader terms, are the ever-prevalent online social forums of interaction, namely Reddit. I find myself absorbing an enormous amount of knowledge from this particular source. I feel that much information from the online sector of my mindmap end up spreading to many of the other sections.

I think my knowledge acquisition largely depends on the environment or context I am in, though the online category is omnipresent throughout. It is interesting to think how our instincts towards asking questions has been so drastically impacted by technology and its ability to immerse us in a world of constantly available information.

My personal learning mindmap aligns with connectivism, as it illustrates the constant interactions between different learning connections and emphasizes the necessary need to discern between such an influx of knowledge. George Siemens explains that “connectivism is driven by the understanding that decisions are based on rapidly altering foundations” (Siemens, 2004). This exercise was a compelling snapshot of our current learning climate. I would be curious to map out learning connections from previous stages in my life and identify the possible advantages or disadvantages that a simpler mindmap might contain.

Sources:

Siemens, G. (2004). Connectivism: A Learning Theory for the Digital Age. [online]. Retrieved April 8, 2017 from http://www.elearnspace.org/Articles/connectivism.htm

Leave a Reply

